Summer Vegetable Pie, Oh My!

by mukwritesbooks

This flavorful veggie pie works both as the main entree or as a filling side dish.

I originally came across this recipe a few summers ago, and sent it to N so that she could try it out too.  While it’s a good guide for cooking instructions and ingredients (you can basically put in whatever vegetables you want), I’ve found that both times I made it, I needed to triple the cooking time. The recipe says 15 minutes, and when I made it yesterday, it stayed in the oven for about 50.  I have a feeling it’s because I sauteed the vegetables for longer than the suggested 3-5 minutes – making them softer and more watery.

In any case, it’s a light but filling dish that tastes just as good the next day, although I would suggest reheating in a toaster oven rather than the microwave to get the pastry crispy. I think I also do prefer the gruyere cheese as a topping, but my now 1/4-block of English cheddar was good too.

Before (left) and after (right) shots of the pie. Folding the pie crust so that it overlaps adds some nice texture and design to the dough.

