The Magical Spicy Jar

by mukwritesbooks

Never underestimate the power of the spicy jar.

My birthday was on Sunday, and my friend EG gave me what I must deem one of the most creative gifts I have ever received: a jar of layered spices, labeled as “The Spicy Jar.” I’m still trying to figure out what some of the layers are, but there is definitely sea salt, oregano, curry powder, paprika, a couple sage leaves, a few dried red chili peppers, black pepper, and some type of chili powder.

Yes, here it is, just for your viewing pleasure: the one and only “Spicy Jar”

This past weekend was full of lots of eating on my part and little to no cooking <– the perks of being the birthday girl! So when I got home from work today, I was excited to get back into the swing of things and make a nice homemade dinner. I rediscovered a box of orzo in my cupboard and decided to make Orzo with Veggies & MorningStar sausage. Of course, the guest of honor was none other but the Spicy Jar! I doubled my spontaneous recipe to make enough to take to work for lunch the next day:


Ingredients
 (for 2 servings) 

1/2 cup (dry) orzo

1 tomato, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 onion, chopped

1 medium zucchini, chopped

1 tsp olive oil

1 tsp “Spicy Jar” contents

3 MorningStar sausage links

Instructions

Prepare the orzo, according to the directions on the box. (I let them cook for about 9 minutes before turning off the stove.) Set aside.

Coat the bottom of your pan (it’s convenient to make the orzo first so that you can use the same dish for the veggies – less to wash!) with the olive oil. Sautee the vegetables, starting with the onions on medium-low heat for about 3 minutes, and add in half your spices. Then add in the tomatoes and garlic and zucchini. Once the tomatoes have released some water, add in the other half of your spices. Let this mixture cook for about 10 minutes on medium heat.

Meanwhile, prepare the Morningstar sausages – I cheated and used the microwave (covered, for 1 1/2 minutes…but I don’t have the most powerful microwave, so aim for about 1 minute and see from there). Chop and add to the mixture to soak up some of the spices/liquid. Once fully mixed, add the cooked orzo back in and stir to combine. Enjoy!

Despite the title of this post, don’t think that the “Spicy Jar” is beyond your reach. Yes, even mere mortals like yourself can gather the individual spices needed to create this yummy blend. And it makes a great gift…..

 

 

…hint: I’ll probably be done with this jar come June next year.

