Herb Bread and Upscale Grilled Cheese

by thefamilyfoodblog

A couple of weeks ago, I blogged about our balcony herb garden. Recently, we decided to use the fruits (well, the herbs) of that garden along with the bread machine to make some herb bread. I’d bought P a bread machine cookbook as part of his recent birthday gift, and we were both excited to go beyond a basic white loaf.

So I cut a few tablespoons of thyme, oregano, basil, and rosemary and added them to the white bread recipe. As I was cutting the thyme, I was startled to find this little guy wiggling next to the stems:

Green Worm

A little green worm, next to a teaspoon for size reference. We put him in the Tupperware to keep him in place while preparing the bread.

The bread turned out delicious!

A two-pound loaf of white bread needs only about two tablespoons of herbs. Any mix is fine; use whatever you have.

A few days before making this loaf, I’d come across this post on DCist describing a local restaurant’s new Tuesday night tradition: a grilled cheese bar. Using some Toscano pepper cheese from Trader Joe’s, I decided to take my own crack at it. And it turned out delicious!

Grilled cheese with Toscano pepper cheese on homemade herb bread. Where’s the missing quarter-sandwich, you ask? My tummy!

