Girls’ Night Out Treat: Slutty Brownies

by thefamilyfoodblog

This past weekend, a friend of mine organized a girls’ night out, where all of us dressed up in little black dresses, caught up over cocktails, and then hit the town. Several of us brought appetizers, and I decided to bake up a pan of slutty brownies, inspired by this recipe from The Londoner. As she explains, “they’re called slutty brownies because they’re oh so easy, and more than a little bit filthy.” She’s right.

Ingredients

  • 1 box brownie mix (I used Ghirardelli’s dark chocolate mix), and associated ingredients
  • 1 packet cookie mix (I used Betty Crocker chocolate chip cookie mix), and associated ingredients
  • about 20 Oreos
  • butter or oil to grease the baking pan
  • 2 handfuls chocolate chips (optional)

Instructions

Start with the cookie layer. Mix up the cookie mix as directed on the box, and then add a teaspoon or two of oil and/or water – whichever you’ve already used in the cookie mix – to make the dough extra gooey. This is because you’ll be baking it significantly longer than you would for cookies (it ends up looking a little gross but trust me on this). If you’d like, stir in an extra handful of chocolate chips. I’d imagine that nuts would work well here, too. Lightly grease your baking pan and add the cookie dough layer, pressing it down to form a flat surface.

Press down the cookie dough layer so it fills the bottom of your pan.

(Wondering about those ramekins? Full confession: I wanted to save some of the brownies for myself, and so I baked a couple of mini batches in those. I ended up using them for a little experimentation, too.)

Next up is the Oreo layer. Cover the cookie dough with Oreos. I used about 20 of them in my 11×7 pan. Be generous but don’t pack them in too close; leave some spaces for the brownie layer to seep in between the Oreos.

On top of the cookie dough layer, add a layer of Oreos, leaving small spaces between them.

Here’s where the ramekin experiment comes in: for these little batches, I tried using Girl Scout Thin Mints instead of Oreos, and they came out great! Since they lack a cream layer, though, they aren’t as soft, so if you try this, I’d recommend eating them fresh out of the oven or heating them up before eating.

Consider trying other kinds of cookies. These small brownies have my favorite Girl Scout cookie: Thin Mints.

Finally, you have the brownie layer. Make the brownie mix as directed on the box. If you’d like, add the remaining handful of chocolate chips (or nuts, or whatever) into the mix. Pour the batter over the Oreo layer, using a spoon or spatula to spread it out evenly.

For the third and final layer, use brownie mix.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. Baking time depends on the vessel; the ramekin brownies were ready after about 25 minutes, and my 11×7 pan took about 35 minutes. Let cool for at least 5 minutes before serving.

All finished and ready to eat!

Pro tip: If you want to go the extra mile and use homemade cookie dough and brownie batter, try this version of the recipe by What’s Gaby Cooking. I haven’t tried it yet but the pictures look delicious.