Cafe Fare: Baguette with Brie and Apples

by thefamilyfoodblog

Yesterday was a gorgeous day out – probably one of the last few really warm days of this summer. I’m proud to say I took full advantage, by heading down to the Mall for the National Book Festival, walking back up to the National Museum of Women in the Arts for their Women who Rock exhibit (highly recommend it for anyone who ever aspired to be a rock star), and enjoying lunch out on the balcony when I finally got back home at 4 p.m.

(Does that still count as lunch?)

Anyway, needless to say, I was pretty hungry by the time I returned. Inspired by one of the first cafe lunches I had while studying abroad in Europe, I decided to make myself a toasted baguette with brie and fruit.

Ingredients (per serving)

  • one mini baguette
  • half an apple, cut into 1/8-inch slices
  • 1 oz brie, sliced
  • 1/2 tsp butter

Instructions

Slice the baguette in half lengthwise and toast lightly.

While bread is toasting, melt the butter in a pan over medium heat. Place apple slices in a single layer and cook until they begin to soften, about 3-4 minutes. Turn slices over and cook for another 3-4 minutes.

Arrange brie and cooked apple slices on toasted baguette. Serve immediately.

Keeping with the fresh theme of this meal, I had a glass of sparkling water with a splash of orange juice and a handful of mandarin orange slices. Delicious!

