A Healthier Tuna Salad Sandwich

by mukwritesbooks

Until very recently, my first reaction when I heard the phrase “tuna salad sandwich” was a mix of disgust and confusion. The idea of taking the texture of tuna and mixing it with mayonnaise and celery into a salad, and then smushing that concoction between two pieces of bread – there wasn’t anything appealing about it. How in the world did someone first come up with that recipe?

A few years ago, I switched mainly to Greek yogurt, and came across a bunch of recipes where you can swap it in for mayonnaise, cream cheese, etc. to get a healthier dish. And of course, amid the lists of recipes were dozens of variations on the classic tuna salad sandwich. But I steered clear. Until earlier this week.

Like the last couple years, this January is full of resolutions to cook different dishes, to cook healthier, to cook more. So today, after I read about the nutritional value of fish for the umpteenth time and came across yet another “10 Ways You Need to Start Using Greek Yogurt Now” article, I finally had a new resolution: I was going to make a tuna salad sandwich.

Today after work, I bought the few additional ingredients I would need – celery and mustard (already had both yogurt and tuna at home, albeit safely far away from one another, on different sides of the kitchen) – and whipped up a 2-meal batch of a Simple Tuna Fish Sandwich.

It was so good. I’m a convert.

Ingredients (makes two sandwiches):

  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt (I used plain, but you could use non-fat if you like)
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 celery rib, minced
  • 1/4 tsp (couple squirts) lemon juice
  • 1 5 oz. can chunk tuna (I used albacore) in water
  • 4 slices whole grain bread
  • handful of kale or spinach

Instructions:

  1. Mix all ingredients except the tuna. Then add the tuna.
  2. Assemble the sandwiches.
  3. In my case, humbly accept that you have found your new go-to weeknight meal 🙂

10945636_10152925193437013_2017478866341674463_n

 

 

 

